Faculty

Contact Information

Research and Professional Interests

Yehia Daaka, PhD Yehia Daaka, PhD
Haskell Hess Professor and Chair
(352) 273-8112
ydaaka@ufl.edu
  • Understanding the biological roles of G protein-coupled and androgen receptors that instruct embryonic development and continue to function in adulthood
davram Dorina Avram, PhD
Preeminence Professor
Associate Chair
(352) 273-8474
davram@ufl.edu
  • Transcriptional and epigenetic control of mature T cell differentiation and effector function and of innate lymphoid cells
  • Altered immune regulatory mechanisms in autoimmune diseases (multiple sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease) and asthma
  • Ubiquitin ligases in immune regulation and cancer
  • Treatments for multiple sclerosis and lung diseases through induction of tolerance and by altering the migration of pathogenic immune cells
John Aris, PhD John P. Aris, PhD
Associate Professor
(352) 273-6868
johnaris@ufl.edu
  • Cellular Aging
  • Mechanisms that regulate chronological and replicative life span in eukaryotic cell types
William A. Dunn, Jr., Ph.D William A. Dunn Jr., PhD
Professor
(352) 273-9007
dunn@ufl.edu
  • Molecular aspects of the regulation and mechanisms of cellular autophagy in normal and diseased tissues
Maria Guijarro, PhD
Assistant Scientist
(352) 273-9156
guijam@ufl.edu
Jianhui Guo, PhD
Assistant Scientist
(352) 273-9720
jiguo@ufl.edu
ACB2015-4169 Shuang Huang, PhD
Professor
(352) 273-6769
shuanghuang@ufl.edu
  • Elucidating molecular mechanisms associated with breast and ovarian cancer metastasis
  • Identifying cancer driver genes/pathways in ovarian cancer
Alexander M. Ishov, Ph.D Alexander M. Ishov, PhD
Associate Professor
(352) 273-8202
ishov@ufl.edu
  • Chemoresistance in breast cancer
  • Nuclear Structure and Function
  • Epigenetic Regulation of Gene Expression
  • Tumor Suppression
Moira Jackson, Ph.D Moira Jackson, Ph.D
Research Associate Professor
(352) 273-5068
moiraj@ufl.edu
Daiqing Liao, Ph.D Daiqing Liao, PhD
Associate Professor
(352) 273-8188
dliao@ufl.edu
  • Cell-biological functions of KATs & HDACs in virology, epigenetics and cancer biology, as well as on discovery, characterization, and optimization of novel small-molecule inhibitors of these enzymes for cancer therapy
Paul Linser, PhD Paul J. Linser, PhD
Professor
Whitney Marine Laboratory
(904) 461-4036
pjl@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Regulation of genes that serve to distinguish and define specific cell types in maturing tissues
Amanda Maxey Amanda Maxey, M.D.
Research Assistant Professor
(352)273-8899
amaxey@ufl.edu
Viacheslav Morozov, PhD
Assistant Scientist
(352) 273-8216
morozov@ufl.edu
narayan_s Satya Narayan, PhD
Professor
(352) 273-8163
snarayan@ufl.edu
  • Targeting DNA repair and replication pathways for therapy of colorectal cancer
  • Mechanisms of cigarette smoke-induced breast and lung carcinogenesis
  • Role of APC in DNA repair
Venkatesh Nonabur Venkatesh Nonabur, M.D.
Assistant Scholar
(352) 273-9393
nonabur@ufl.edu
  • University of Florida College of Medicine Exemplary Teacher Award, 2006 to 2012
opavsky Rene Opavsky, Ph.D
Associate Professor
(352) 294-8596
ropavsky@ufl.edu
  • Role of DNA methyltransferases in normal and malignant hematopoiesis
Qiu_Yi Yi Qiu, PhD
Assistant Professor
(352) 273-8201
qiuy@ufl.edu
  • Understanding the structure and function of different class of HDACs, as well as their roles in gene regulation and cancer
Kyle E. Rarey, PhD Kyle E. Rarey, PhD
Professor
(352) 273-5753
rarey@ufl.edu
  • Charter Member, UF College of Medicine Society of Teaching Scholars, May 2000
  • Advisory Board member of Gray’s Anatomy for Students, August 2002.
  • Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars Committee, 2004
  • Member of the National Steering Committee for Research in Medical Education (RIME) of the AAMC, 2003-2005
Tracy-Ann Read, PhD Tracy-Ann Read, PhD
Research, Assistant Professor
(352) 273-8154
taread@ufl.edu
  • Cell Motility
  • Neurodevelopment and Neurodegeneration
  • Brain Cancer Metastasis
Stephen P. Sugrue, PhD
Professor and Sr. Associate Dean of Research Affairs
(352) 273-8475
sugrue@ufl.edu
  • Elucidate the molecular determinants of the regulation of corneal epithelial cell phenotype
Hamsa Hamsa Thayele Purayil, PhD
Assistant Scientist
(352) 273-8244
hamsathayele1@ufl.edu
  • Cancer research
  • Prostate cancer signaling
  • Nuclear receptors and cancer
Eric A. Vitriol, Ph.D Eric A. Vitriol, PhD
Assistant Professor
(352) 273-9214
evitriol@ufl.edu
  • Actin dynamics
  • Neurodegenerative disease
  • High-resolution microscopy
Maria Zajac-Kaye, Ph.D Maria Zajac-Kaye, PhD
Professor
(352) 273-9153
mzajackaye@ufl.edu
  • Understanding mechanisms of oncogenic transformation
  • Defining patterns of cooperation between thymidylate synthase (TS) and other cancer genes using a series of defined mouse models
  • Improve use of TS as a biomaker and therapeutic target